Count your many blessings, count them one by one

If you were ever in Sunday School you’ll know the rest of that verse. It’s one of the first little songs we learn after mastering such classics as “Jesus Loves Me” and “Jesus Loves the Little Children.” And so I’ve decided in November to count. Count my many blessings, count them one by one.

I’d be lying if I said thirty wasn’t a lot. I even said to Brenton today that I might ought to save a few gimmes for later in the month when I feel like I’m running dry. But seriously, what normal person can’t come up with thirty things for which they are grateful? I could come up with a dozen just today!

But, I’m going to stick with one because that was the agreement. So here’s a multi-parter just to get things going.

We dropped Madeline off with my Mom and Grandma today and headed up to Skyline Drive. (We all slept til 8:30 which should make the thankful list.) And of course it was beautiful. The sky was blue. The air was cold and crisp. It was just the two of us so we had some BBQ in Sperryville before we headed up the mountain towards Luray. No one was complained about how long it was going to take and no one cried about needing to use the bathroom NOW.

We ambled north stopping and looking and snapping a few pictures when we felt like it and just riding when we didn’t. It was a beautiful trip. I was reminded of how lucky I am to live in Virginia and how beautiful it is every season. But Fall has always been my favorite and we really enjoyed it today.

While it could be said that every place is beautiful in its own way, Virginia is definitely a leg up on a few places I have been. I know there are parts of Arkansas that are nice, just not the part I’m from. And don’t even get me started on Newark.

Seeing the trees and the farms in the valley and maxing out at 45 mph was great. Nowhere to go and nowhere to be. Just beautiful leaves, a toasty warm car (I’ll be thankful for the Volvo and its heated seats later), good company and some beautiful weather. So very many things to enjoy and for which to give thanks to God.

Leave a Reply

